“Stick and Stone May Break my Bones but Words will Never Hurt Me.” How True is This Timeless Phrase?

We all heard it growing up over and over again but as we became adults this phrase quickly faded away. As you go into the workforce certain words can put you on the unemployment line. It could be sexual harassment or workplace bullying but I’m not talking about that. I’m referring to words hurting someone, not just the repercussions of using such chosen words. We have to understand the levels and types of hurt. Such as a broken limb versus a mental breakdown. First, we need to take a trip to the land of why is it taught to kids in the first place.

Children have a high sensitivity to tone of speech. This is because they may not understand what you are saying but they understand the context through your inflections. As they grow more mature they transfer that sensitivity to the context of speech. That also affects the way they communicate, they don’t “say what they mean and mean what they say”. When a kid gets into trouble for fighting because another kid said ya momma, we tell that kid words can’t hurt you and they don’t even know your mother. In the child world, ya momma isn’t ya momma it’s much more. It’s the final step to a fight. After the name-calling, rumors, and paper-throwing, ya momma is up next. It’s saying lets fight but I don’t want to throw the first punch so I’m going to do everything in my power to get you to initiate the fight. Instead of saying words don’t hurt we should teach children the power of words.

A weapon can harm or protect. Words have the power to discourage or inspire. Think of a negative Nancy or a sports coach. Now, back to the physical pain. I was heading home after a doctor’s visit. I didn’t eat all day because I was ordered to not eat or drink after midnight the night before. It was 1 pm when my friend called me to help her out because she needed help to carry some stuff out of Target. Boom instant headache. She just assumed I should go directly to her after my appointment instead of saying, take your time it’s no rush. If those words can cause unintentional harm what else words can do? I’m fully aware that words can teleport you into another land. There were plenty of times when I lost inside the universe of a book and almost missed my train stop. So, words can affect you mentally and physically, but is it the same as a physical assault? No, it’s not but that doesn’t mean it’s not harmful.

Sleep deprivation, loudness, poison, and cancer will not break bones but they will hurt you. The same is true with words. Depression, anxiety, self-doubt, headaches, and thoughts of suicide can be triggered by words. Whether it be from speech or written text words can be as harmful or even cause more harm than a physical attack. You can defend yourself from sticks and stones but it can be difficult to defend against words, especially if you don’t see it as a treat. Words can creep up on you well after the exchange and put your mind in a vulnerable state. I don’t condone physical violence in retaliation to harmful words but what else can a person do to defend themselves? We put kids in karate class for self-defense, so is it wise to assume people don’t need to be trained in verbal warfare? Verbal abuse happens more than physical abuse, we need a system in place to train ourselves in the art of words. Stick And Stone May Break my Bones and Words Can Do Some Serious Damage.

Leave a comment